Daniel Haller ’22 and Noah Wolfe ’22 Receive National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program Awards

By Patrick Smith | Division of Academic and Student Affairs


Daniel Haller ’22 and Noah Wolfe ’22 are two of twenty NC State students who have earned awards that will help support their graduate school pursuits, thanks to the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program

The Graduate Research Fellowship Program provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant research achievements in STEM or STEM education. NSF especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, persons with disabilities, veterans, and undergraduate seniors to apply. 

The purpose of the awards is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing full-time research-based master’s and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education. 

The recipients of the Graduate Research Fellowship Program awards from NC State are:

  • Cameron Angulo (life sciences – ecology) 
  • Cole Butler (mathematical sciences – mathematical biology)
  • Andrew James Connelly (physics and astronomy – quantum information science)
  • Erin Lynne Crites (physics and astronomy – condensed matter physics)
  • Ryan David DeBoskey (engineering – aeronautical and aerospace engineering)
  • Amber Hana Detwiler (engineering – biomedical engineering)
  • Hisham El-Shaffey (chemistry – chemistry of life processes)
  • Cassie Gann (engineering – civil engineering)
  • Daniel Joseph Haller ’22 (engineering – chemical engineering)
  • Rebecca Hart (engineering – mechanical engineering)
  • Lindsey Taylor Jacobson (engineering – mechanical engineering) 
  • Melina Kieghron (life sciences – ecology) 
  • Grace Michaud (engineering – electrical and electronic engineering)
  • Sucheta Malladi (engineering – electrical and electronic engineering)
  • Jessica Lynn Martinez-Baird (life sciences – genetics)
  • Austin Louis Mituniewicz (engineering – biomedical engineering)
  • Christopher Orrison Norcross (geosciences – geomorphology)
  • Lydia Nicole Skolrood (engineering – chemical engineering)
  • Alexis Natalie Voulgaropoulos (engineering – chemical engineering)
  • Noah Ethan Wolfe ’22 (physics and astronomy – astronomy and astrophysics)

Students interested in learning more about the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program or other prestigious fellowships should contact the University Fellowships Office for information and assistance.

This article was originally published by the Division of Academic and Student Affairs.