Michael Dickey named one of the most cited researchers in the world

Michael Dickey, Park Advisory Committee member and Park Scholar mentor, was one of four College of Engineering professors at NC State who were recognized on Clarivate’s 2023 list of Highly Cited Researchers.

Headshot Michael Dickey, gray background

Each researcher selected has authored multiple papers ranked in the top 1 percent by citations for their field(s) over the past decade. This year, Clarivate’s list included 7,125 designations to 6,849 researchers. There were 131 researchers total in engineering.

  • Michael D. Dickey, Camille and Henry Dreyfus Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Dickey studies and researches new ways to pattern, actuate and control soft materials, such as gels, polymers and liquid metals. A common theme of his research is the importance of thin films, interfacial phenomena and microfabrication.

The following professors were also recognized for being in the top one percent of citations in their field over the past 10 years were:

  • Aram Amassian, professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE). Amassian’s research develops and uses robotics and artificial intelligence to establish formulation-process-structure-property relationships in an organic, quantum dot, and metal-halide hybrid perovskite semiconductor materials. He has co-authored more than 210 research publications.
  • Amay J. Bandodkar, assistant professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering (ECE). Bandodkar’s research includes work with the interface of electronics, materials science and biology to realize next-generation conformal sensors and energy devices with broad applications in wearables, implants and distributed systems.
  • Robert Heath, Lampe Distinguished Professor in ECE. Heath’s research involves wireless communications cellular systems, public safety and military networks, with recent applications to vehicular communication systems, 5G and now 6G.

Heath has been featured on the list since 2014, Amassian joined the list in 2020 and Dickey appeared for the first time in 2021. Bandodkar was featured on the 2022 list for the first time.

Harald Ade, Goodnight Innovation Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics at NC State, was also on the list. Ade is an affiliated faculty member in MSE in the College of Engineering. Ade’s research has contributed to the development of Near Edge X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (NEXAFS) microscopy, X-ray linear dichroism microscopy, X-ray photoemission microscopy and more.

Rodolphe Barrangou, Todd R. Klaenhammer Distinguished Professor in Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences at NC State, was also listed.

Selection happens in July and then is narrowed down based on certain criteria, including how many authors are on each paper and papers with anomalous levels of self-citation, and the list is created in September, to be launched by November.