Three Park Scholars Honored at the NC State College of Education’s 11th Annual Education Council Spotlight Awards Ceremony

Excerpt from an article published by the College of Education News

Shannon Carney ’23, Cat Dean ’23, and Megan Pryor ’22 were among the 17 students recognized by the NC State College of Education for their leadership, achievements, and dedication to the field of education during the 11th Annual Education Council Spotlight Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 16. The ceremony was held virtually. 

Spotlight Awards screenshot

“We are here to recognize students for their commitment to leadership and service throughout the academic year. The ‘educate, innovate and inspire’ motto is taken to heart by all students in the College of Education,” said Education Council President Abby Earp. “Students worked tirelessly to contribute to their communities and the world in meaningful ways. They strive to become the best that they can be; therefore, it is fitting that we recognize the efforts of these students and their dedication to the college and their respective organizations.” 

During the ceremony, the current Education Council executive board, the student ambassadors and the N.C. State Teaching Fellows were recognized for their leadership and contributions to the college. Cyndi Edgington, Ph.D., assistant teaching professor of mathematics education and Park Faculty Scholar for the Class of 2023, gave the keynote address, which was focused on the importance of student involvement. 

Executive board members of the Education Council, the umbrella organization for all student organizations within the College of Education, presented the awards.

College of Education Spotlight Awards


Shannon Carney ’23
Mathematics and Mathematics Education

“It is such an honor to be presented with the College of Education Spirit Award. Knowing that my passion for education is clear to those around me is so encouraging, since I hope that I can demonstrate it to my future students as well. I feel beyond blessed to have the support of my peers and faculty in a college that I have so much love for.”

Shannon Carney

Outstanding Club Members

North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCCTM)

Megan Pryor

Megan Pryor ’22, Mathematics and Mathematics Education

Passport to Success

Catherine Dean

Catherine Dean ’23, Elementary Education

View a complete list of the 11th Annual Education Council Spotlight Awards honorees

This is an excerpt from an article originally published by the College of Education News.