Park Scholar Media Mentions

Quite a few members of the Park Scholarships community have appeared in the media over the past two months:

Park Scholar Media Mentions

The following Park Scholars and alumni received media coverage in recent weeks:

Patent Holders Sudeep Sunthankar ‘12 and John Yanik ‘12 Tackle Medical School

Park graduates Sudeep Sunthankar ‘12 and John Yanik ‘12, along with four collaborators, recently published a patent on “Implantation tools for spinal cord stimulator leads and related methods” – affectionately known by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as US 20130289685 A1.

Park Faculty Scholar Profile: John Griggs

posted 2011.08.16 John Griggs has been a faculty member at NC State University for over two decades and currently serves as a teaching assistant professor and coordinator of classroom instruction in the Department of Mathematics. Along with Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi, a professor in the Department of English, Griggs serves as a Park Faculty Scholar for the Class of 2013.   Park Faculty Scholar John Griggs. Griggs completed his undergraduate education at Indiana State University, where he played on the football and basketball teams.
Read more »

Tea Party Research by John Coggin ’09 and Fellow Harvard Scholars Adds to National Debate on Government Spending as Debt Ceiling Deadline Looms

posted 2011.07.11 Despite the fact that his grandfather cautioned him against mixing religion and politics, John Coggin ‘09 recently graduated from Harvard University with a Master of Theological Studies in Religion, Ethics, and Politics.   “I am convinced that, while church and state should remain separate, religion and politics have always gone together and they always will,” says Coggin, a Sanford, North Carolina native who received degrees in communication media and interdisciplinary studies while at NC State. “They both give us ways
Read more »

John Campbell ’11 Named UNCF/Merck Undergraduate Science Research Fellow

John Campbell ‘11 has been awarded the United Negro College Fund/Merck Undergraduate Science Research Fellowship. The fellowship is sponsored by the United Negro College Fund/Merck Science Initiative which supports African-American students engaged in study and research in the biological and chemical sciences. Fellows are mentored by a Merck scientist and participate in two summer research internships at Merck research facilities. Campbell is an outreach advisor in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and serves as co-president of the Minority
Read more »

John Crews ’07 Wins Philadelphia Marathon

John Crews ‘07 crossed the finish line in the Philadelphia Marathon in 2 hours, 17 minutes and 15 seconds. His time, a personal best, qualifies him for the 2012 Olympic Trials. Crews’ success in Philadelphia is one in a series of wins – including the Raleigh Marathon and Keybank Vermont Marathon. While an undergraduate at NC State, he successfully balanced academics and athletics and excelled as a Park Scholar and member of the university track team. When not training or
Read more »

Park Scholar Receives Hunger Leadership Award

John Coggin ’09 has received the first President William Jefferson Clinton Hunger Leadership Award. John was presented the award on January 26, 2009 at an NC State Millennium Seminar. President Clinton spoke on ”The Way Forward,” discussing the challenges facing the new presidential administration and issuing a call for a ”how to” generation to tackle problems such as world hunger. Click the link below to be redirected to the NC State website and read the full story. ~posted 2009.02.02

Two Seniors Receive NSF Awards

Two Park Scholars have been named National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellows. Katya Casper and John Rhoden (both 2007) have both been awarded NSF fellowships. Several other Park Scholars and alumni received honorable mentions: Justin Brockman (2006), John Kelly, Wes Overton (2007), Danielle Proffitt (2006) and Katie Watlington (2006). The Graduate Research Fellowships provide three years of support for graduate study leading to research-based masters or doctoral degrees and is intended for students who are at the early stages of
Read more »

Scholars Recognized by Goldwater Foundation

Jessica Badger (2007) was awarded the Goldwater Scholarship, and John Rhoden (2007) received an Honorable Mention. Jessica Badger (2007) was awarded a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship for the 2006-07 academic year. One of this year’s 323 recipients, she was selected from a field of 1,081 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. John Rhoden (2007) was one of 128 recipients to be named honorable mention. A Fayetteville native, Jessica is majoring
Read more »